Local Emergency Planning Committee

The Washington County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) was formed in 1987 to comply with the federal laws governing the manufacture, transportation, storage, use, distribution and disposal of specified hazardous materials. These laws define which types and quantities of chemicals/substances are considered hazardous, a mandate that facilities report the presence of these materials and the laws provide a process the public can use to access information about hazardous materials within their communities. The Washington County LEPC is a group of volunteers representing the public, business, industry, government, media, first responders, health and community groups. The committee meets quarterly to address issues surrounding planning and response to emergency situations involving hazardous materials and public education. For further information, please contact the Washington County Office of Emergency Management at 262-335-4399.

Committee Members:

  • Paul Sebo*, Chairperson
  • Darryl Pree*, Vice-Chairperson
  • Mary Ellen Mortensen*, Secretary
  • Chad Birkholz*
  • Richard Bertram
  • Nicole Heling*
  • Kurt Rusch
  • Rob Schmid*
  • Martin Schulteis*
  • Steve Smith*
  • John Spartz*
  • Paul Stephans*
  • A. J. Stone*


*Non-County Board Members

Agendas & Minutes

Disclaimer: Meeting minutes and agendas are updated as received by the County Clerk's Office. Minutes and agendas on this site may be subject to change based upon subsequent committee or board action. However, changes, additions and/or deletions may or may not be published on this site. The publication of agendas on this site is not considered an official Posting. Approved meeting minutes are available at the County Clerk's Office. The County reserves all rights to modify this site and the information contained hereon as appropriate.