CP: State Grant Awards

The Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) awarded a joint comprehensive planning (smart growth) grant of $280,000 to Washington County for the development of a multi-jurisdictional plan. Washington County scored an 85.87, ranking 3rd out of 26 applicants and is one of six that received a grant. The DOA grant program provides $2 million annually to help local communities develop comprehensive plans.

Washington County, in partnership with:

  • Town of Addison
  • Town of Barton
  • Town of Erin
  • Town of Farmington
  • Town of Germantown
  • Town of Hartford
  • Town of Kewaskum
  • Town of Polk
  • Town of Trenton
  • Town of Wayne
  • Village of Kewaskum

These municipalities formally agreed to work together in a single planning effort to develop a multi-jurisdictional comprehensive (smart growth) plan that fulfills the requirements of the Wisconsin Comprehensive Planning Law enacted in 1999. All municipalities and the County were required to adopt a plan by January 1, 2010 including recommendations for housing, transportation, utilities and community facilities, agricultural, natural and cultural resources, economic development, intergovernmental cooperation, and land use.