Obtaining A Marriage License
WHERE TO APPLY
Washington County Courthouse
County Clerk's Office, Room 2027
432 E. Washington Street
West Bend, WI 53095
(262) 335-4735 or (262) 335-4301
HOURS: 8:15 a.m. - 3:45 p.m. Monday - Friday
Appointments are not required.
Residency is considered to be the place where one has resided for at least 30 days prior to the date of application. Wisconsin residents' applications must be made in the county of residence of either party. If both parties are residents of another state, application must be made in the county where the ceremony is to be performed.
A fee of $100 to be paid at the time of application is required. We do not accept credit cards, debit cards, or out-of-state checks. There will be an additional $2.00 fee if the license is to be mailed. Sorry, no refunds.
Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry if otherwise competent. If a person is 16 or 17 years of age, a license may be issued with the notarized written consent of the person's parents, guardian or custodian. Consent forms are available in the County Clerk's Office.
Failure to meet the following requirements will delay the issuance of your license.
- If your marriage is going to take place three (3) months or more from today, please call the County Clerk's office or return to this website 30 days before your wedding to verify that the laws have not changed.
- All applicants, regardless of age, must present a STATE CERTIFIED birth certificate when applying for a marriage license in Washington County. If you were born in Wisconsin, you may obtain a State Certified birth certificate from the Register of Deeds in the county in which you were born, or the State of Wisconsin - Vital Records. For individuals born in Washington County, please contact the Register of Deeds at (262) 335-4318.
- Proof of identity for both parties. This is a valid (not expired) driver's license or state ID, showing a photo for identification, and reflecting your current address.
- Both parties must provide proof of 30 day residency, with at least one residing in Washington County. If a current address is not shown on the valid driver's license, a utility bill or government mail addressed to that person, with a date at least 30 days old, must be presented.
- A signed copy of a judgment of divorce, state annulment paper, or death certificate from the last marriage must be presented for those who have been married previously. To obtain a divorce, annulment, or death certificate contact the State of Wisconsin's Vital Records.
- Date of ceremony.
- Name of township, village or city and county where the ceremony will take place.
- Name, home mailing address, and home telephone number of person performing the ceremony.
- Both applicants must provide Social Security numbers.
- Both applicants must apply in person at the same time.
- Premarital medical exams and blood tests are not required.
- Birth Certificates, Divorce Judgments, and Death Certificates that are not in English will require a notarized translation of the document(s) to English.
There is a six-day waiting period, excluding the day of application. Since the license is valid for 30 days including the day of issuance, application can be made up to 36 days ahead of the ceremony, but no further in advance. Licenses cannot leave the Clerk's office until the license becomes effective. Couples should take into account that the office is not open Saturdays, Sundays or legal holidays. If a couple is planning to be married on a Saturday, application would have to be made no later than the Friday preceding the week of the marriage. BEST "RULE OF THUMB" (considering weekends, etc.): Apply no LESS than 8 days before and no MORE than 36 days before the ceremony. In some instances, a waiver may be granted in advance, due to unusual circumstances. Waivers will not be granted to anyone under the age of 18. The cost of the waiver is $25.00.
Persons divorced must wait six months from the date of judgment before marrying. This applies to residents and non-residents. Marriages of Wisconsin residents outside the state and contrary to Wisconsin laws are null and void in Wisconsin. Marriage in Wisconsin by a person residing in another state is prohibited if such marriage would be void in the home state or jurisdiction of the person.
EXPIRATION OF LICENSE
The license is valid for 30 days including the date of issuance. The marriage must be performed within this period.
Any municipal judge, ordained member of the clergy, or circuit court commissioner who is at least 18 years of age may perform the ceremony. In Washington County, individuals listed below may perform ceremonies. If you wish to have your ceremony performed by one of the individuals below, you must call for an appointment. Two witnesses 18 years of age or older are required.
CLICK HERE FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION CHECKLIST
Circuit Court Commissioners:
Commissioner Bomrad will perform ceremonies at the Courthouse at no cost* if the Court Calendar permits. A service fee is charged for ceremonies performed elsewhere. *There is a non-refundable $75 facility use fee for ceremonies performed at the Courthouse. Courthouse ceremonies must be scheduled in advance through the County Clerk's office at (262) 335-4301.
Washington County Supplemental Court Commissioners:
|William F. Alderson
|John A. Best
|Christine Eisenmann Knudtson
|Jeffrey A. Jaeger
|Roland L. Pieper
Supplemental Court Commissioners do not perform ceremonies at the Courthouse. There is a fee charged for their services.
MARRIAGE IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY
When someone is married out of the United States, it is their responsibility to obtain the proper legal paper(s) from that country. It is important to get certified copies before you leave the foreign country and if the certificate is in a foreign language, you should obtain notarized translations of the document. This document will be your only proof of marriage. If a marriage is performed in a foreign country, a marriage license cannot be filed in Wisconsin.
If you have any questions, please call (262) 335-4301.